Let’s learn about Cryptocurrency-legalized countries and their list

What are the countries that have legalized cryptocurrency in the world? Which countries have approved cryptocurrencies? List of countries that allow cryptocurrencies? If you are fading up by trying to learn more about countries where legal to use or deal with cryptocurrencies, we have the complete guide to fulfil your need.

The global usage of cryptocurrencies is accelerating. Over 100 countries around the world have authorised cryptocurrencies in some form as of 2023.

Among the noteworthy nations that have authorised cryptocurrencies are:

United States of America

The regulatory climate for cryptocurrencies in the United States is quite lax. The Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN) provided recommendations in 2013 clarifying that cryptocurrency enterprises must comply with the same anti-money laundering (AML) laws as traditional financial institutions. However, the US government has not yet decided whether Bitcoin is money or security.


China was one of the first countries to adopt cryptocurrencies, and some of the first cryptocurrency exchanges were established there. However, the Chinese government outlawed cryptocurrency trade and mining in 2017. This restriction was imposed mostly due to worries about cryptocurrencies being used for illicit purposes.


When it comes to cryptocurrency legislation, Japan is one of the most forward-thinking countries. The Japanese government established legislation recognising cryptocurrencies as a lawful payment option in 2017. This law also provided a framework for regulating Bitcoin exchanges and other cryptocurrency-related enterprises.


In the financial world, Switzerland is the wall street in Europe. Their banking system is world-famous for its privacy and secrecy. So Cryptocurrencies are also highly tied to secrecy and privacy. The Swiss financial system also with a favourable regulatory climate for bitcoin is Switzerland. The Swiss government enacted legislation exempting cryptocurrencies from capital gains tax in 2018. Because of this rule, Switzerland has become a favoured destination for Bitcoin investors and enterprises.


Hightech Nation Malta is also on the list which is not a surprise to anyone. Malta has earned the moniker “Blockchain Island” due to its innovative approach to cryptocurrency legislation. Malta approved legislation in 2018 that provided a framework for regulating Bitcoin enterprises. Because of this rule, Malta has become a preferred location for Bitcoin companies and exchanges.

Cryptocurrency is legal in the following countries

  1. Morocco
  2. Nigeria
  3. Namibia
  4. South Africa
  5. Zimbabwe
  6. Canada (banned by banks)
  7. Mexico
  8. United States
  9. Costa Rica
  10. Nicaragua
  11. Trinidad and Tobago
  12. Jamaica
  13. Brazil
  14. Argentina
  15. Colombia
  16. Chile
  17. Kyrgyzstan
  18. Cyprus
  19. Israel
  20. UAE
  21. India
  22. Jordan
  23. Saudi Arabia
  24. Iran
  25. Lebanon
  26. Turkey
  27. India (banned by banks)
  28. Pakistan
  29. China
  30. Japan
  31. Hong Kong
  32. Taiwan
  33. South Korea
  34. Indonesia
  35. Philippines
  36. Cambodia
  37. Malaysia
  38. Thailand (banned by banks)
  39. Singapore
  40. Vietnam (not allowed as a payment tool)
  41. Croatia
  42. Germany
  43. Poland
  44. Austria
  45. Czech Republic
  46. Romania
  47. Slovenia
  48. Slovakia
  49. Switzerland
  50. United Kingdom
  51. Australia
  52. New Zealand
  53. Ireland
  54. Netherlands
  55. Belgium
  56. France
  57. Luxembourg
  58. Greece
  59. Italy
  60. Bulgaria
  61. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  62. Malta
  63. Spain
  64. Portugal
  65. Sweden
  66. Iceland
  67. Norway
  68. Denmark
  69. Ukraine

You may also like

Leave a Reply